Protected Species Turtle Decals $ 5.00
Protected Species Manatee Decals $ 5.00
For More information on this call (850) 922-4330 or 1-888-404-3922 (FWCC)
Additional information on vessels can be obtained by Clicking Here....
|Vessels less than 12’ and motorized canoes:||$ 8.75|
|Vessels 12’ or more and less than 16’:||$ 15.75|
|Vessels 16’ or more and less than 26’:||$ 23.75|
|Vessels 26’ or more and less than 40’:||$ 55.75|
|Vessels 40’ or more and less than 65’:||$ 87.75|
|Vessels 65’ or more and less than 110’:||$103.75|
|Vessels 110’ or more in length:||$127.75|
|Dealer Registration:||$ 21.75|
|Documented Vessels (length of boat in addition):||$ 1.00|
|Antique Vessels:||$ 4.75|
For antique vessels a authentic decal is issued one time from the State of Florida for pleasure boats only, for vessels 30 years or older.
Title Application (new, homemade) $ 5.75
Title Transfers (Florida only) $ 5.75
Out-of-State $ 9.75
Duplicate Title $ 6.75
All Boat Title Applications and Title Transfers are susceptible to State Sales Tax.
Florida Statutes 327 and 328 regulate the administration and enforcement of vessel registration and titling laws, as well as boating safety.
All federally documented vessels which are relocated to this state and are domiciled here for greater than 90 days must obtain a Florida registration. Documented vessels are not required to be titled in the State of Florida.
Pursuant to section 327.25(1) Florida Statute, only canoes which are propelled by motors must be registered.
All vessels operated on the waters of Florida shall be numbered and titled pursuant to Chapter 328 Florida Statutes except federally documented vessels owned by the United States Government, a state of political subdivisions thereof, out of state vessels which are registered in another state and used in this state for a period of less than 90 days, vessels used on private ponds, (non-motorized vessels less than 16’) or an amphibious vessel for which a title is issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in the State of Florida.
Yes, if a taxpayer is over the age of 65 and lives in Putnam County , disabled, non-profit organizations, schools, churches, etc.
Yes, you may need to purchase an additional Business Tax Receipt / license from area municipalities, such as the City of Palatka , Crescent City , Town of Welaka , Pomona Park and Interlachen. You will need to check with each area City Hall or Town Hall to obtain additional Business Tax Receipts / licenses if needed in order for you to do business in their municipality.
Putnam County Business Tax Receipts are governed by Putnam County Ordinance 2006-41A.
A taxpayer may purchase a Business Tax Receipt by coming into the Putnam County Tax Collector's Office at any of the 3 locations throughout Putnam County and complete an application.
Yes, you can be assessed a penalty up to 25% of the business tax due, in addition to any other penalty provided by law or ordinance.
No, Putnam County does not reciprocate with any other counties.
The cost can vary from $11.25 to $30.00, depending on the nature of your business.
Business Tax Receipts not renewed on or before September 30th shall be considered delinquent and subject to a delinquency penalty of 10% for the month of October, plus an additional 5% penalty for each month, total delinquency not to exceed 25% of the Business Tax Receipt fee.
The months of July, August and September of each year.
- Determine your Business Location. If you need zoning approval you may call 386-329-0316.
- The Tax Collector’s Office has an application to be filled out when applying for a Putnam County Business Tax Receipt. This may be obtained at any of our four locations.
- If your business involves "sales" you will need to get a sales tax number from the Florida Department of Revenue. That form is also supplied in any of our three locations. For further information on a sales tax number you may call Tax Information Services (1-800-352-3671) Florida Only.
- State Licensed Professionals will need to provide a copy of their current State of Florida license before a Putnam County Business Tax Receipt will be issued. Some professional offices require two (2) licenses, i.e.,
- Physician Office
- Attorney Office
- Beauty Salon/Cosmetologist
- Real Estate Agency/Broker
Business Tax Receipts become delinquent October 1st of each year.
A concealed weapon or firearm license (CWL, also sometimes called a concealed/carry permit) allows individuals with valid licenses to carry weapons (as defined in Chapter 790, Florida Statutes) or firearms concealed on their persons.
Requirements are outlined in state law. You must be a U.S. Citizen or legal resident alien and 21 years of age (service members as defined in Section 250.01, Florida Statutes, and honorably discharged veterans of the United States Armed Forces can apply at 18) and meet certain requirements regarding criminal history. Felons are not eligible.
The state is allowed 90 days from the date of receiving a complete application to process the application and either issue a license or deny the application. An incomplete application
(application not signed, unanswered questions, etc.), not submitting required supporting documents, illegible fingerprint submissions, or an applicant's criminal history may result in extended processing times.
The department is now expediting all Florida concealed weapon or firearm license applications submitted by active military members and veterans.
Active military personnel who want to apply for a concealed weapon license should include a copy of their Common Access Card or other form of official military identification with their applications. The department will also accept a copy of service members' current orders as proof of active duty status.
Honorably discharged veterans should submit a copy of their DD 214 long form with their applications.
Interested individuals can apply by mail or in person at eight regional offices across the state. Approved tax collectors' offices began accepting applications in 2014. Appointments are required in FDACS Regional Offices; applicants should contact tax collectors directly to determine whether an appointment will be required in order to apply at an approved tax collector's office.
The tax Collector must advertise the Delinquent Property Taxes in a newspaper once a week for three consecutive weeks prior to the Tax Certificate Sale, specifying the place, date and time of the sale. The sale date must be on or before June 1st. The newspaper’s advertisement contains the delinquent tax amount plus costs, the property owner’s name and the property’s description. The amount shown in the newspaper will be the amount of the Tax Certificate at the sale.
Not all tax certificates sold at a Tax Certificate Sale are bargains. Tax Certificates are sold under the following concept: Let the buyer be beware! The more thoroughly you research the properties, the better informed you will be and the better will be your chances of avoiding losses. The Tax Collector provides public terminals for citizens to obtain information on specific parcels. Currently, this service is available only at the main office in Palatka, at 312 Oak Street.
The Property Appraiser’s public access can provide background information about any property in Putnam County, i.e., name and address of owner and legal description, which may be obtained at all Tax Collector Location.
To redeem the Tax Certificate, the taxpayer must pay to the Tax Collector all delinquent taxes plus accrued interest, penalties, and advertising cost. The Tax Collector will then reimburse the tax certificate holder and the property will once again be free and clear of any tax liens.
When a Tax Certificate has been redeemed, the certificate holder is entitled to the face value plus whatever interest is has earned at the time of redemption. The redemption is handled by the Tax Collector’s Office and notification is mailed to the certificate holder.
The amount of the Tax Certificate is the sum of the unpaid real estate tax and non-advalorem assessment, 3% interest, 5% Tax Collector’s commission, plus advertising costs.
To participate in the sale, a bidder must register with the tax Collector’s Office. Bidding on interest starts at 18% and is bid down until the certificate is sold.
A tax certificate is a tax lien on property created by payment of the taxes due. It is not a purchase of the property.
Tax Certificate means a legal document, representing unpaid delinquent real property taxes, non-advalorem assessments, including special assessments, interest, and related costs and charges, issued in accordance with Chapter 197, Florida Statutes, against a specific parcel of real property and becoming a first lien thereon, superior to all other liens, except liens, restrictions and covenants surviving or protected as provided by Section 197.573(2)FS. Tax Certificates bear interest at the maximum rate allowed by law (18%) unless the bidder specifies a lower rate. The highest rate that can be bid is 18% and the lowest is 0%.
Florida Statutes require the Tax Collector of each county to annually, between April 1, and June 1, conduct a sale of Tax Certificates on the counties immediately preceding year’s delinquent real estate parcels.
Tax Certificates are dated as of the first day of the Tax Certificate Sale and have a life of seven years computed from that date. Upon the expiration of the appropriate period of limitation, no action may be maintained by any private holder in any court of the state. The holder of any Tax Certificate, at any time after two years have elapsed since April 1, of the year of issuance of the Tax Certificate and before the expiration of the appropriate period of limitation, may submit a Tax Deed Application to the Tax Collector of the county where the real estate described in the Tax Certificate is located.
Tax Certificates can be canceled or reduced if errors, omissions, or double assessments are made. Canceled or reduced certificates receive 8% interest, or the actual amount bid, whichever is less.
Real Property Taxes in the State of Florida are for the calendar year and are payable November 1 of that year. If these Real Estate Taxes are not paid on or before March 31, of the following year, they become delinquent the next day, April 1.
The Tax Collector’s Office and Tax Collector Satellite Offices handle all Licenses and Permits of the following type:
Hunting, Combination Hunting/Freshwater Fishing/Salt, Sportsman, Freshwater and Saltwater Fishing, 5-Year and Lifetime, Saltwater Vessel and Saltwater Pier, Disability, Trapping, and Senior Citizen (optional).
Freshwater & Saltwater Fishing, Hunting, and Trapping
Permits (non-residents and residents)
Management Area, Waterfowl, Turkey, Archery, Muzzle loading, and Migratory Bird. Federal Stamps, i.e., migratory bird, are purchased at the US Postal Office.
PROPER IDENTIFICATION AND AGENT/COUNTY FEES
When purchasing a fishing and/or hunting license always have proof of identification with you such as a Florida Drivers License for residents or Drivers License from your home state. Fees vary only if you purchase from a sub-agent. The sub-agent is allowed to receive an extra $.50 fee for their service and for Putnam County an additional $1.00 fee is added for the "fish fund" to any freshwater license, which is to keep our boat ramps, fishing areas, etc in condition.
LENGTH OF LICENSES
All licenses are good for 12 months from specified beginning date. There is an advance date option for licenses which is beneficial to all license holders. (Licenses cannot be renewed/issued more than 60 days in advance.)
Senior Citizens (65 years+) only need there Florida Drivers License. Senior Citizens 65 years of age or older can obtain a complimentary card in the Tax Collector’s Office and Tax Collector Satellite Offices with proper resident identification. A "senior" who is 64 years of age may obtain a Sportsman License in the Tax Collector’s Office which is a Permanent Hunting and Fishing License for the price of $14.50, also with proper resident identification.
There are exemptions for freshwater, saltwater, and hunting licenses. For current and up to date laws pertaining to exemptions, disability, commercial fishing, Click Here....
The Tax Collector is an agent of the Florida Game and Fresh Water Fish Commission for the sale of hunting and fishing licenses, for both residents and non-residents.
The Tax Collector also has agents which are called sub-agents where licenses may be purchased.
The following is a list of our sub-agents:
- K-Mart - Palatka - 386-325-5315
- Westside Bait - Palatka - 386-328-4035
- Walmart - Palatka - 386-328-6733
- Georgetown Marina - Georgetown - 386-467-2002
- Sub-agents do not handle Disability, 5-Yr/Lifetime, Senior Citizen Cards, Commercial Fishing, Vessel and Pier Licenses.
- Some sub-agents handle Fishing Licenses ONLY.
We have a youth-oriented opportunity we would like to share with all our local summer camps; it is an art project that connects our children to something they see in their daily activates: car license tags.
Specialty license plates allow for an entity/organization which is a Not for Profit approved by the State of Florida to bring visibility to their cause as well as earn money. Through the issuance of a Specialty License Plate
We have a different twist on this for our children; our office has embarked on offering the opportunity, for fun and artwork, to our community children to express some important value of theirs with the ability to put it on a license plate… I need to add here that it will not be eligible for State approval however, it can be fun, artsy and mindful for our children.
If the taxpayer does not redeem the outstanding Tax Certificates, the certificate holder can apply for a Tax Deed. The certificate must be two years old before they can apply for a Tax Deed. The property owner is notified of the action and if the taxes are still not paid, the property will be auctioned off by the Clerk of the Circuit Court to the highest bidder, in a public sale. Application for a Tax Deed is made to the Tax Collector’s Office.
If the property is assessed on the latest certified tax roll as homestead property, the opening bid will be increased to one-half of the assessed value of the property as listed on the current year’s tax roll.
If there are no bids higher than the opening bid, the land will be sold to the applicant provided that one-half of the assessed value is made. If there are bids higher than the opening bid, the land shall be sold to the highest bidder, provided that payment of one-half of the assessed value is made. If the applicant is not the successful bidder all monies will be refunded to the applicant. A title holder of record of the property shall have the right to redeem the property prior to the sale date by making payment to the Tax Collector. Upon payment, the Tax Collector shall post all records to indicate that an Application for Tax Deed has been redeemed. The Collector shall refund to the applicant all funds received for the redemption of the Tax Deed Application by the 20th of the month.
Any certificate holder making application for a Tax Deed shall pay the Tax Collector a $150.00 Title Search fee and a $75.00 Tax Deed Application fee, redeem all outstanding tax certificates not in their possession, and pay current taxes if applicable. They must also pay the Clerk of the Court costs and Sheriff’s costs. Upon receipt from the Tax Collector of the Tax Collector’s certification and the Tax Deed Application, the clerk shall publish a notice of the pending sale once each week for four consecutive weeks at weekly intervals in a local newspaper. The clerk shall hold a public auction at the time and place stated in the notice. The statutory (opening) bid required by the Clerk of the Court shall be the original amount certified by the Tax Collector to the clerk, the costs and fees of the Clerk of the Court and the Sheriff, the Tax Deed Applicant’s Statutory interest at the rate of 1.5% per month for the period running from the month after the date of application for the deed through the month of sale.
The law allows taxpayers to pay their taxes on an alternative payment plan (installment plan) if they choose and if their estimated taxes, collected pursuant to Chapter 197, are more than $100.00. The taxpayer must submit an application to the Tax Collector before May 1 and make the first payment no later than June 30 of that tax year.
The taxpayer officially enrolls in the installment payment plan by making the first payment by the June deadline. Continued participation is required for the remainder of that tax year. Annual renewal is automatic as long as the June payment is made each year.
A taxpayer that elects the installment method pays based on an estimated tax equal to the actual taxes for the preceding year. Following is the payment schedule:
- 1st Installment: ¼ the total estimated taxes discounted 6% Payment required by June 30. Failure to pay first installment would put you back to the annual payment plan (single bill sent in November).
- 2nd Installment: ¼ the total estimated taxes discounted 4.5% Payment required by September 30.
- 3rd Installment: ¼ the total estimated taxes plus ½ of any adjustment for actual tax liability discounted 3%. Payment required by December 31.
- 4th Installment: ¼ the total estimated taxes plus or minus the other ½ of any adjustment for actual tax liability. No discount. Payment required by March 31.
Delinquent installment payments must be paid in full with the next installment. Any amount remaining unpaid on April 1 is treated as delinquent taxes.
Under Florida Statute 197, the Tax Collector has the responsibility for the collection of ad valorem taxes and non-ad valorem taxes.
The ad valorem tax roll is certified to the Tax Collector by the Property Appraiser, who determines the assessed value of the property. Taxes then are based on the assessed value and the millage of each taxing authority. Millage rates are set by the Board of County Commissioners, School Board, City Commission, and other taxing bodies within their boundaries. The non-advalorem assessment roll is certified to the Tax Collector by local governing boards, i.e., the Solid Waste Authority and water control districts. Please Note: the non-advalorem levies are not based on value or millage rate.
- 4% if paid in November
- 3% if paid in December
- 2% if paid in January
- 1% if paid in February
Gross amount of taxes are due in March.
The discount is determined by postmark of payment.
After real estate taxes become delinquent on April 1st of each year, they are advertised in a local newspaper once a week for three consecutive weeks. On or before June 1st, the Tax Collector must conduct a tax certificate sale on each unpaid parcel of property. When a tax certificate is sold against a piece of property, the successful bidder pays the delinquent taxes on that property and then receives a receipt which also constitutes a first lien against the property. A taxpayer could pay interest up to the rate of 18% per year. This rate depends on the interest rate that was bid on at the tax certificate sale.
Taxes become delinquent April 1 of the year of assessment, at which time a 3% penalty is added to the real estate tax bill. Taxes paid after the month of April must be paid with guaranteed funds.
Tax statements are mailed out by November 1st of each year. The bill covers January 1 through December 31 of the year of assessment.
The tax roll is completed by the Property Appraiser. It is then certified to the Tax Collector who mails the tax notice to the owner’s last record of address as it appears on the tax roll.
The TDT is a 4% local option tax authorized by Florida Statute (FS) 125.0104 and Putnam County Ordinance 2014‐4, section 40‐166 of the Putnam County Code (PCC) for the purpose of promoting tourism in Putnam County. Every person (Provider) who rents or leases for consideration any living quarters or accommodations for a period of six months or less has the responsibility to collect the TDT from the guest/tenant and remit it in a timely manner to the Tax Collector’s Office. The Tax Collector is charged with the responsibility of collection, administration and enforcement of the TDT Laws.
Living quarters or accommodations for this purpose are defined as hotel, apartment hotel, motel, resort motel, apartment, apartment motel, rooming house, mobile home park/court, recreational vehicle park, condominium, single family dwelling/cottage, garage apartment, lake/river house, and any other vehicle or structure held out to the public to be a place of living/sleeping accommodations. A more detailed list can be found in PCC 40‐166 (c).
The tax is paid by the tenant/guest on the total rental amount to the provider. The provider has the responsibility to collect the TDT and remit the funds to the Putnam County Tax Collector In a timely manner.
TDT funds are due on the first of the month following the month of collection and are considered delinquent if they are not postmarked by the 20th of the month in which they are due ( if the 20th is a weekend or holiday, the following work day is acceptable postmark or deliver at office date). Delinquent TDT funds are subject to no collection allowance and a penalty rate of 10% of taxes due or $50 whichever is greater for each month or fraction thereof up to 50% of taxes due. Delinquent TDT funds are also subject to interest assessed daily at a rate established by the Florida Department of Revenue.
A tax return must be submitted even if no taxes were collected for a scheduled reporting period (monthly).
Providers are subject to audits for compliance purposes administered by or through the Tax Collector Office. Providers will receive written notification from the Tax Collector’s Office at least 30 days prior to a TDT audit.
All records that substantiate short‐term rentals including but not limited to: guest checks, ledgers, sales tax payments and federal income tax returns must be maintained for a minimum period of 3 years. For audit purposes the records substantiating the TDT funds must be made available at the place of business in Putnam County
Exemption from paying TDT: Providers of short‐term rentals are required to collect TDT from all guests/tenants except for those guests/tenants who are exempt from paying the TDT. To receive an exemption from the TDT, the guest/tenant must present their Sales Tax Exemption Number (provided by Florida Department of Revenue) and the short‐term rental must support the underlying exemption.